While Oklahoma is among the states with the least stringent concealed carry laws, you still have to have a license to carry on your person. In the spring of 2018, Governor Mary Fallin (R) vetoed the Constitutional Carry bill that overwhelmingly sailed through the legislature. That means SB 1785 is still the law of the land in Oklahoma. Because the licensing process takes some time and planning, Sports World has provided the resources below for your convenience.

Oklahoma Concealed Carry Permits are honored in...

Oklahoma concealed carry permits offered in these states

Beginning November 1, 2012, the state of Oklahoma allows citizens to carry a concealed handgun without a license. A: SB 1785, passed by the state legislature, was signed into law by Governor Mary Fallin on May 7, 2012.

Training Required for Oklahoma Concealed Carry

In order to obtain a license to carry a concealed handgun, citizens must successfully complete a firearms safety and training course from a certified Self Defense Act firearms instructor and demonstrate competency and qualification with a pistol authorized for concealed carry by the Oklahoma Self‑Defense Act. A certificate of training must be submitted along with your application.

Some residents are exempt from the training, so make sure you understand the law before you apply. The steps below come from the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation, which governs firearms licenses in Oklahoma. We’ve also provided frequently asked questions here.

Steps to Apply for Oklahoma Concealed Carry Permit

STEP #1: Read and become knowledgeable of the Oklahoma Self-Defense (Concealed Carry) Act.

Carefully look at the eligibility requirements, mandatory preclusions and other preclusions to determine if you are qualified to be an SDA license holder.

STEP #2: Complete the required firearms safety and training class or receive an exemption from a certified gun safety instructor.

You will need to send one of the following to the OSBI with your application:

– original signed training certificate indicating handgun authorized to carry, issued in the last 3 years, or

– original signed exemption certificate, issued in the last 3 years.

STEP #3: Apply online or complete an application. (Applications are also available at sheriffs’ offices or by emailing the OSBI.)

STEP #4: Upload a color photo or attach two (2) color, passport style photographs to your application.

THE STATE DOES NOT ACCEPT PERSONALLY PRINTED PHOTOGRAPHS.

Photo service may be available at your sheriff’s office for a fee not to exceed $10.00.

STEP #5: Take the online summary sheet or completed application, photographs, and required fees to the Sheriff’s Office in the county you live.

Next Steps – The Sheriff’s Office will:

* verify applicants against photos submitted and their Oklahoma Driver License or state issued Identification Card (if applicant has permanent military orders in Oklahoma, he or she may show a driver license or identification card from their home state of residence). Applicants who apply online and upload a photo must have a printer capable of printing a clear and legible image. The printed image can be black and white.
* take two complete sets of fingerprints of the applicant.
* submit both sets of fingerprints, the online summary sheet or completed application, certificate of training or exemption, a report of information deemed pertinent to an investigation of the applicant for a handgun license, the photographs, and the processing fee to the OSBI within fourteen (14) days of taking the fingerprints.

FEES AND FORMS OF PAYMENT as of May 2018

A money order or cashier’s check in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) made payable to the sheriff covers the fee for fingerprinting and local agency criminal history record checks conducted by the Sheriff’s Office; the table below represents fees to be paid to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.

Initial Application 5 Year License $100
10 Year License $200
Renewal Application 5 Year License $85
10 Year License $170
Expired Renewal Application

(License expired less than 3 years)

5 Year License $85
10 Year License $170
Expired Renewal Application

(License expired more than 3 years)

5 Year License $100
10 Year License $200
Instructor’s Application

(Initials, Renewals & Expired Renewals)

5 Year License $100
10 Year License $200